Review: Robert Oster Marrone Mustard


Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

I was thinking about which Robert Oster ink to review next and I decided to do Marrone Mustard. I was really expecting something more on the yellow side, as in the commercial mustard that we commonly find in the condiments section of the grocery store. When I put my pen on paper, though, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it’s predominantly brown. A quick Google search on the word Marrone informed me that it’s Italian for brown. The Marrone Mustard ink is a brown mustard color, which is a nice golden brown. It’s pretty striking, especially because it has such expressive shading.

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

It looks gorgeous on paper, especially in person. The shades of the ink ranges from a soft mustard yellow to a warm brown. I suggest you use a wet medium nib so you can appreciate the shading and the complexity of the color even more. It reminds me of the color of leaves turning. The ink grows a little bit darker a few hours after it dries up on paper. I’ve tried it on my journal which has ivory colored Tomoe River paper and my oh my, it’s gorgeous.

The flow is almost moderate but a tiny bit on the dry side. It’s also not very water resistant, making it a nice ink to use for pen and wash drawings. The water brings out more of the reddish component of the brown tones, though. The wash looks more orange-y than brown or yellow.

Here are a few close ups of the writing samples:

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Overall, I find this ink very, very beautiful. I must add it to my personal collection. It’s the kind of ink I want to write many letters and journal entries with.

Robert Oster inks are exclusively distributed in the Philippines by Everything Calligraphy.

2 thoughts on “Review: Robert Oster Marrone Mustard

Doodle here...

