Kobo eReader! What Fun!


Traveler's Notebook Olive

I’ve always been curious about Kindle, Kobo, and other e-readers, though not enough to actually try any of them. I figured that I could read ebooks anyway on my tablet if I wanted to, and I didn’t really like ebooks that much. I liked the feel of real books, the smell of real paper. I loved making notes on borders and highlighting with different colored inks. It’s a bit difficult to lug my books around, though. So for the first time in years, I actually seriously considered getting an eReader. My husband bought me one as an early anniversary gift a couple of weeks ago, and I must say, I am enjoying it a lot. Nobody’s more surprised than I am. I opted for a Kobo Glo HD rather than a Kindle as I was originally planning.

Traveler's Notebook Olive

As a super-duper late adopter, I’m surprised at how different the reading experience is on an eBook reader compared with my tablet. I can read for hours without suffering from a headache after because of the screen’s glare. It’s still no substitute for paper, of course, but it’s the closest approximation to an actual page that I have ever seen. I was like a kid, delighted that when the sales lady showed me the unit, I thought the Welcome screen she was showing me was printed on paper.Ā Ooooh, so this is what e-ink looks like.

There’s not much option for sharing on social media, but I guess that’s part of the charm. It’s an electronic device that’s designed to mimic the analog experience as much as possible. Sure you can import ebooks, make annotations, review your annotations, make dog-ears (bookmarks) on pages, sort your books by collection, but it has limited sharing capabilities, only linking to Facebook. You can’t copy texts either, just like you can’t hold down and press “copy” on a page in an actual book. So it does connect to the internet, but it also doesn’t distract you with too much “connectedness”.

I love that it has Pocket integration. I can save articles in Pocket (which is something I already use via Chrome plugin and on my mobile phone) then manually sync my Kobo or schedule a sync at a certain time of the day so I can read the articles later. It’s quite fun. I’m re-reading some of my favorite books lately, and discovering new ones too. I haven’t been able to figure out how to convert the books I bought from Google Play Store through Caliber, but I’ll look into it soon. So fun. Much wow. ^_^

4 thoughts on “Kobo eReader! What Fun!

  1. When we emigrated, I had to sell or donate something like 60% of the books we owned. We had thousands of books so it was impossible to ship them all for financial reasons. It was a wee bit devastating. Anyway, that was what really switched me on to e-readers. I already owned a kindle so that I could take multiple books on vacation with me but since emigrating I’ve used it for reading a lot more than I used to in order that I don’t amass the same vast collection of books I once had. If I think a book will be read more than twice then I’m still inclined to buy a physical copy but otherwise I buy the e-book version or borrow from the library.

    Like

    • Oh my gosh, that must have been tough. All my books from the time I was a child are still in my library. I have so many memories with them. I enjoy reading my notes, the little scribbles where my mom taught me to put my name and the date when I got the books… they’re kinda like old friends. I guess it’s difficult to have the same kind of emotional attachment with ebooks.

      Well, at least you can rebuild your library and make new memories with new books. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a Sony reader and I love it, too. For me it’s the dictionary function which I find most comfortable, since I read most books in English, which is a foreign language for me. And I love that I can take all my ebooks with me when I’m travelling.

    Like

Doodle here...

