Review: Kyo No Oto Kokeiro


I was trying my best to save this review for last, like the fountain pen ink version of the marshmallow test, but my EQ is low haha. I’ve always had a soft spot for olive green inks, especially those that have a lot of the yellow component in them. This is why the Kokeiro ink from the Kyo No Oto line is so attractive to me.

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

The color reminds me of a cross between Alt Goldgrun and Diamine Wagner. It’s the color of shelled pistachio nuts. It’s light yellow-green in some places, darker green in some, with a little bit of that gorgeous golden tinge that gives it a nice glowing quality. The color is really eye-catching, especially on ivory-colored paper. The flow is quite wet. I used it in my Sheaffer Lifetime with a fine nib, and it flowed really well. It dries moderately fast at about 20 seconds on tomoe river paper. It’s saturated enough to make it easy to read, it’s a good enough ink to use for daily writing. It’s well-behaved and has very expressive shading. The shading is quite obvious even with a fine nib. It’s not water resistant, though it does leave behind faint light green lines. If you like olive green inks, this is such a nice color to have. Here are a few close ups of the writing sample.

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

Kyoto inks are available at Everything Calligraphy.

Here’s a roundup of all the Kyoto Inks I have reviewed:

14 thoughts on “Review: Kyo No Oto Kokeiro

  1. I also bought this and find it a very pretty color. It is also a bit dry in my Platinum 3776 Century M nib (I have to push ink up in my converter), but it comes out a bit greener and less yellow than in your sample, on my Rhodiarama notebook.

    Liked by 1 person

Doodle here...

