Review: Kyo-Iro Stone Road of Gion


Here’s another Kyoto Ink from the Kyo-Iro line. It’s called Stone Road of Gion. It’s a delicate shade of brown. It’s earthy and soft, almost a bit silvery, at least on tomoe river paper. It has this old-timey feel to it and it’s really gorgeous when used on ivory-colored paper.

Kyo-Iro Ink Stone Road of Gion

It reminds me of the color of Raw Umber, which is one of my favorite watercolor pigments. I guess because I see the color a lot in nature, I use it for woody parts of plants, mushrooms, soil, etc. Stone Road of Gion has a very organic look to it. I really like it a lot. In terms of performance, the ink flows very wet, but it doesn’t feather or bleed. If anything, it almost feels a bit watery.

The delicate color may strike some people as a bit translucent, but it’s very easy to read in person. Because the color is a bit light, I would suggest using it with a wet-writing nib. I used a Cross Century II with a custom medium cursive italic nib for this review. I like the gorgeous shading on the ink, I think it would make a nice addition to my brown ink collection.

It dries pretty fast, at around 15 seconds. It’s not water resistant, a few seconds of soaking with droplets of water almost completely erased the ink.

Overall, I think it’s a gorgeous shade, especially when used with a wet writing nib or nib sizes from medium upwards. Here are a few close ups of the writing sample:

Kyo-Iro Ink Stone Road of Gion

Kyo-Iro Ink Stone Road of Gion

Kyo-Iro Ink Stone Road of Gion

Kyo-Iro Ink Stone Road of Gion

Kyo-Iro Ink Stone Road of Gion

Kyo-Iro Ink Stone Road of Gion

Kyoto inks are available at Everything Calligraphy.

Here’s a roundup of all the Kyoto Inks I have reviewed:

10 thoughts on “Review: Kyo-Iro Stone Road of Gion

Doodle here...

