‘Shrooms


P2140555

I was sick with cough and colds last week, so I wasn’t really able to sit up too long and paint anything. I’m feeling much better today, though. I thought I’d have a little fun. I had the idea while having dinner with my husband and a friend last Sunday. We had some awesome mushroom chicharon (deep fried mushrooms that taste like pork cracklings)  for appetizers and oh mah goodness. Those things are delicious! If I were blindfolded, I wouldn’t have guessed those were oyster mushrooms. I thought the little folds and textures were interesting.

P2140551

On this page, I drew/painted oyster mushrooms (yum), morel and chanterelle mushrooms.

P2140549

On this page, shiitake, enoki and porcini. It was lots of fun! I had a great time exploring different kinds of browns, yellows, and reds.

Colors used: (Sennelier) Naples Yellow Deep, Venetian Red, Yellow Ochre, Burnt Sienna, Raw Umber, Payne’s Grey (Artnebulaph.com)

Paper: Global Art Materials Travelogue Watercolor Journal (Stationer Extraordinaire)

4 thoughts on “‘Shrooms

  1. hmunro says:

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve been ailing … but how wonderful that you’ve made such a beautiful comeback! The avid morel-hunter in me adores your paintings. 🙂

    Like

Doodle here...

