Busy, Busy Week


It’s been pretty hectic in the office these past few months, but especially this past weeks. I was hardly able to get any writing done, though I was able to make a bit of art here and there. This week was less brutal than the week before, so I was able to stay up a bit later than usual to finish a few watercolor pieces.

P1170250

It started with World Watercolor Group’s theme about dandelions. I was never a dandelion chaser when I was a child. I just let them be. I thought they were beautiful when little bits of it are floating on the air. Other kids would run around and catch them, making wishes before they blow them off to the air again. I enjoyed making the dandelion painting so I thought I’d try a few botanical paintings again. I only made one botanical painting before, I believe, of a basil plant. I thought I’d try other things.

P1170259

I found a tutorial on Youtube about how to make blueberries, but it turned out to be a bit darker than I wanted. I still like it, though. I don’t always make paintings that are big like this, but I must admit that it’s enjoyable to have a lot of space to work on the little details too.

P1180361

This one’s my favorite, it’s a coffee plant based on a photo of cafea arabica I found online. The beans are smaller and the painting less detailed than the blueberry painting, but I like that it looks cleaner. Also…coffee. ^_^

P1190367

The last botanical painting I did was of Anona Squamosa L. or better known by its local name, Atis. Internationally, it’s called sugar apple or sweet sop. It’s one of my favorite fruits, even if it’s a little difficult to eat. It’s full of seeds inside, and the sweet pulp wrap around each seed. So you pop the seed in your mouth, eat the sweet pulp and spit the seed out. It’s a lot of work to eat, but I really enjoy it. 🙂

I loved this little foray into botanical painting, though it takes time to work out the little details and lay down all the layers in every part of the plant. I think i’ll keep on working at it when I have time. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Busy, Busy Week

Doodle here...

