Review: Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki


Pilot Iroshizuku Limited Edition Itoya Inks

The wonderful folks at Everything Calligraphy sent over a few samples of the Limited Edition Pilot Iroshizuku inks. These were made specially for Itoya, Tokyo, I believe. They’re all pretty interesting colors, but I made a beeline for the Edo-Murasaki first. I’ve been wanting to try out Pilot’s Murasaki Shikibu but I never got around to buying a bottle. My first impression of the ink was that it’s a very beautiful shade of purple. I don’t have a lot of purple or purplish inks in my collection, so I decided to buy this one for myself.

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

I can easily see this as a great ink for everyday writing. It’s nicely saturated and it’s a dusky kind of purple. Not too fruity-looking or too loud. It’s a nice, conservative, dark purple ink. It kind of reminds me of J. Herbin’s Poussiere de Lune, but a tad darker.

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

It has nice shading, but the shading becomes less obvious with my 1.1mm nib. I like how it looks so rich and velvety. It has some sheen to it, but it’s not too noticeable. It takes a bit long to dry (about 15-20 seconds with a medium nib on Tomoe River paper), but it’s a very well-behaved ink, as I’ve come to expect from the Pilot Iroshizuku line. It flows so well and makes the writing experience that much more pleasant. Here are a few closeups of the writing sample:

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

It’s not very water resistant, though it leaves a faint bluish mark behind. It also seems to get a bit darker after leaving on paper for a few hours.

Overall, another drop-dead gorgeous Iroshizuku ink. Watch out for my review of the other two limited edition Iroshizuku inks in the next few days.

These LE inks are available at Everything Calligraphy.

2 thoughts on “Review: Pilot Iroshizuku Edo-Murasaki

  1. efe says:

    hello, thats great. i really love the color! but i am having hard time to find this product.Where did you get it? ps: I am in US

    Like

Doodle here...

