Khadi Papers Book Block First Impressions


I’m quite new to watercolor, I’ve always been partial to pen and ink drawings. I find watercolor a bit hard to control. I always enjoy looking at journals of urban sketchers, and I like how loose the drawings are and how layers of watercolor create textures and shadows that are just so beautiful. So I’m really coming from a blank slate of a background when it comes to watercolor and everything about it. I was looking for good (and affordable) watercolor journals where I can put my first attempts at urban sketching. I came across Khadi Papers at ArtWhale and thought that since it’s relatively more affordable compared to other good watercolor paper, I’ll try it out. I bought a small book block and my brother-in-law gave me a medium book block as a birthday gift.

Khadi Papers

The first impression I had was that it didn’t seem thick, even if it’s 40 pages of watercolor paper. I can easily bring either book in my bag without problems. It’s light and easy to carry around. I haven’t tried that many watercolor paper, but I must say that this is my favorite so far.

They don’t have the hardbound version so this one has stitch binding and no hard cover.

Khadi Papers

It has deckled edges which (for me) looks really great. I’m kinda inlove with it. It has this really raw, almost organic look and feel.

Khadi Papers

Khadi makes smooth and rough paper, and this one’s the rough kind. There’s very obvious texture on the surface, which I immediately thought would make washes look really interesting. It’s handmade from India, 210 gsm, acid-free, and 100% cotton. I think the binding will hold up pretty well, although I’ll need to use it a bit longer to know for sure.

I tried out my new Prima Confections on my first page, and I was a bit disappointed at first because I thought it would warp afterwards, but the page went back to laying almost flat after the watercolor had dried. I tried to paint on most of the surface of the next pages, and it warped a bit at first, but when it dried, it went back to being nearly flat, almost like it was before I painted on it. It means I can fill up the book with paintings and it won’t look like an ugly sheaf of warped paper.

IMG_4762

I like the texture of the paper a lot. It really adds that depth and detail to the washes especially when layered. Here’s a first attempt at a quick sketch. It’s much prettier in person, and really pleasant to touch. You can also draw and paint at the  back of the pages, so you can have paintings on  both sides. That’s a huge plus for me.

IMG_4763

I like how the colors pop on the pages and how vibrant even the ink from the fineliner looks like. I really enjoyed using this paper. Anyway, these are only my first impressions and I’m hoping to post more about it as I use it more often. Overall, I’m very pleased with it.

Doodle here...

