Ink Review: Akkerman Hopjesbruin


I’ve been hearing about these Akkerman inks for a while, but since they’re not locally available, I never really looked into them. When Stationer Extraordinaire opened a pre-order of these inks, I signed up just to try out the brand. Also, I figured if I didn’t like the ink, at least the bottle would be interesting. Coincidentally, the color I picked matched the pen I bought for my birthday (but I’ll save that for another post). When I got the Akkerman ink that I ordered, I was really happy with the bottle and the box. I love the vintage vibe to everything about it.

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

Isn’t that gorgeous? It’s the kind of bottle you’d put on a desk for decorative purposes. The bottle also isn’t just beautiful, it’s also practical. I wish more ink manufacturers will make their bottles with openings that are convenient even for big pens. The neck of the bottle has this ball stopper that makes that portion an ink collector. It will be much easier for your pen to fill up on the last drops of your precious ink if you have an ink collector like this.

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

As for the ink itself, I love it a lot. It’s the shade of brown that I really, really like. Reminds me of honey. It’s brown with some tones of yellow, similar to Pelikan Edelstein Amber, but less yellow than that. It’s a lot easier to read.

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

I like this kind of brown because it’s less serious-looking than dark browns. Less business-like and more complex and lighthearted. The color is probably not suitable for writing official/work documents, but I’ve been writing my journal entries with it since I got it, I like it a lot. It’s like a mixture of caramel, amber, golden brown, and sepia. It has an aged,warm feel to it. If you try it on more porous paper, it appears darker.

I would recommend using it with a wet writer because the flow is dry to moderate. It also dries up fast, between 10 to 15 seconds on a medium nib. It’s not very waterproof,  but I already expected that. I tried writing on cream-colored paper and oh. My. Gosh. It’s just so gorgeous. Here are a few close ups of the writing sample.

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

P.W. Akkerman Hopjesbruin

Overall, it’s an instant favorite! Love at first sight. 🙂

One thought on “Ink Review: Akkerman Hopjesbruin

Doodle here...

