Ink Review: J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis


I got a sample of J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis (Tears of Black Currant) from Everything Calligraphy a couple of weeks ago. I’m not too big on purple or purplish inks, I admit I’m still hung up on Bilberry and J. Herbin Poussiere de Lune but it’s always great to try new ink colors.

My first impression on J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis is that it doesn’t really look like black currant. That would actually be a super cool ink color, though. It looks more like ube.

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

It starts out looking light and a bit too timid, but it gets darker as it dries. It’s not a bold purple, but it’s not too soft-looking either. I’m not sure if it’s just because I used it with a stub, but it doesn’t offer too much shading. Some people will like that, but I like my inks very shade-y.

The flow is pretty wet, and it took about 20 seconds for the ink to dry on Tomoe River paper. It’s not an extremely complex-looking ink, there’s no sheen or distinctly ambiguous undertones. It’s just a pretty shade of soft purple. It’s saturated enough to use for daily writing, it’s not hard to read. It’s a well-behaved ink that takes just a tad longer to dry. It’s also not water resistant. It leaves a very faint blue line behind, but most of the color washed away after a 30 second soak.

Here are a few close ups of the writing sample:

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

It’s really like writing with liquid ube. Now I’m hungry. Overall, it’s a pleasant purple ink. The kind that grows on you as you use it.

One thought on “Ink Review: J. Herbin Larmes De Cassis

  1. It really looks like a surprisingly great shade of purple for longer writing. I’m not one for purple either, most of the times, but I can see this covering several pages without getting hard on the eyes while reading – something I’ve come to pay very close attention to. Thanks for sharing, I certainly won’t deny it a try if I stumble upon it 🙂

    Like

Doodle here...

