Review: J. Herbin Diablo Menthe


J. Herbin Diablo Menthe

Here’s another J. Herbin ink I’ve always been curious about but never really tried because I couldn’t imagine using an ink that looked so cheerful. Thanks to Everything Calligraphy, I tried a sample of it out and I’ve been enjoying it for a few days. J. Herbin’s Diablo Menthe is a very minty-looking blue ink. I had to use it with a wet writer just so I can really see its color. I can think of a few creative applications for this, but as far as writing goes, I wouldn’t recommend it for daily writing. Unless, of course, you’re into lightly saturated inks for your daily writing.

As far as writing goes, I think this would be useful for making unobtrusive notes on a page, or to write out section headlines/dividers and provide contrast to darker inks. It’s a pretty nice highlighter ink too. If you use wide nibs for calligraphy, it could be a darker shade of mint blue. It dries pretty fast, an average of 10 to 15 seconds. It’s not water proof at all, I guess that’s pretty easy to see.

The ink flow tends to be dry, depending on the nib that you use. Which is why I think it would make a good highlighter ink. It makes a pretty eye-catching ink for drawings, though. I cannot wait to use it in more pen and ink or pen and wash drawing. Here are a few closeups of the writing sample.

J. Herbin Diablo Menthe

J. Herbin Diablo Menthe

J. Herbin Diablo Menthe

J. Herbin Diablo Menthe

J. Herbin Diablo Menthe

Doodle here...

