Custom Size TN from Sunday Leather Craft


Sunday Leather Craft's Custom TN

I first came across Contrail notebooks earlier this year, while browsing around Powerbooks, Greenbelt. I found the covers of these pocket notebooks so vibrant and beautifully-designed. The size is also perfect for quick notes, lists, etcetera. I tried a few out to see if the paper is any good. It can stand up to medium nibs but works better with fine nibs. Brush pens are great, but parallel pens bleed through. Overall, something I’d like for just day to day notes. I never expected to like TNs. I resisted buying TNs for a while because I thought I would never adjust to anything that’s not A5 or bigger. Then I bought my first Traveler’s Notebook and the rest is history. I just love it, love everything about it. So when I came across Contrail notebooks, which are like smaller versions of the regular TN size, I thought hmmm, this would look great as a TN.  I messaged Toto of Sunday Leather Crafts and asked him to make one for me. I just gave him the size of the notebooks and the color of the leather that I prefer. A few weeks later…tada!

Sunday Leather Craft's Custom TN

It’s super cute. I changed the elastics to the extra ones I bought for my Midori TN. The size is just right, it fits contrail pocket journals perfectly. It’s also great for when I don’t have space for my larger journals and I just want something small to bring along.

Sunday Leather Craft's Custom TN

It’s just a little longer than this Pilot Custom Heritage 92. That should give you an idea how small it is. It’s not uncomfortably small for writing, but small enough to fit in your pocket.

Sunday Leather Craft's Custom TN You can fit in two Contrail notebooks if you want it to be slim and compact. But I prefer it on the chunky side so I fit in 4 inserts. You can actually fit in one more, probably, but that’s a bit too chunky for me. Here it is with four inserts. Sunday Leather Craft's Custom TN

I made my own tomoe-river inserts too, based on the dimensions of the Contrail inserts. It’s so much fun carrying it around for quick sketches and calligraphy practice.

Sunday Leather Craft's Custom TN

I also love the name tag. 🙂 Such a nice, personal touch. They put it in as an extra tag, in addition to the blank one. Who doesn’t like options?

All in all, I am just really happy with this TN. Sunday Leather Craft does good custom leather work. Check them out!

Doodle here...

