More Like Riding a Bike


After a few days of writing words, then phrases, then paragraphs, and whole passages, I’m beginning to remember what I forgot.

Baybayin

Turns out it’s a lot like riding a bike. It’s still a slow process, but like a young child just learning to read, I am able to recognize the letters and words again. I can write the letters on my own now, without consulting my guide. It’s slow but it’s fascinating how the letters and words are slowly becoming less and less alien and more and more… mine. The photo above is of a Filipino folk song, Bayan Ko. There’s nothing quite like writing it in Baybayin. The message of the song fits so well.

Baybayin

The photo above is of Psalm 8 (Awit 8), one of my favorite Psalms. Translated to Filipino and then written in Baybayin. Exquisite. Filipino is still my emotional language, after all. 🙂

(Side note: It’s just wonderful to use these stub nibs for Baybayin. The line variation lends more drama to the strokes, though also making it nearly impossible to write small.)

10 thoughts on “More Like Riding a Bike

  1. what a beautiful script! I’ve never seen this before, but while I have no clue what it says, it has a really wonderful flow to it.
    And such great colors, too. Which inks did you use?

    Like

      • Damn, they really look good 🙂 I’ll have to get me both of them sometimes. I’ve been thinking about yama budo for ages, but I’ve never before seen Bilberry in action – and it looks like I really want to 🙂 Thank you for this.

        Like

      • Pao says:

        Bilberry looks different on different kinds of paper. Sometimes the violet or red component is more obvious, sometimes it looks like royal blue. The red sheen is real pretty, though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • For some reason I’m not much of a fan of sheen 🙂 It keeps irritating me. Though I do love shading. And that blue is really pretty. I’ll see. 🙂 These days I have way too many inks, anyways… I should use some of it first…

        Like

      • Pao says:

        Different strokes for different folks, I guess. There are some people who don’t even like shading. I personally like sheen and shading. I’m not too big on shimmery inks, except for Emerald of Chivor. Perhaps some people find the sheen distracting? Anyway, thanks for dropping by! Have fun with your inks! ^_^

        Like

  2. It’s wonderful how forgotten things from our childhoods can be brought back to the surface with just a little prodding 🙂
    I hope you renewed connection becomes second-nature to you with some more practice.

    Like

    • Pao says:

      Yes, that’s true. A little prodding is all it takes. 🙂 Yes, I’m beginning to read a bit faster now, and writing has become close to my regular writing pace. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Doodle here...

