On Custom Nibwork


My two Cross Century II pens wrote okay but the nibs were boring. Booooooring. Hard as nails and not the most pleasant pens to write with. They’re okay but they can be better. I decided that I would ask a local nibmeister, JP, to fix it up for me in my favorite kind of grind–left oblique cursive italic.

Here’s a video of the writing sample:

I once asked him to grind me a cursive italic nib on a TWSBI Micarta, and I enjoyed that as well. However, I was always rotating my nib while I write, and I wanted something that had more of a slant to it. Here are a few photos of differences between a regular nib, cursive italic, and a left oblique cursive italic. The lines written with blue ink is left oblique cursive italic, medium nib is green, and cursive italic is brown.

IMG_4215

As can be seen in the photo above, the left oblique cursive italic nib has a slanted profile, the medium nib has a rounded profile hence rounded tips on the lines, and the regular cursive italic has crisp edges.

IMG_4216

IMG_4217

The resulting line variation makes the writing more interesting-looking, for me.

IMG_4211

It has more line variation as you write.

IMG_4212

Whether you write in cursive or block letters, it makes the lines more varied and (in my opinion), a lot more interesting to look at.

IMG_4213

I initially asked for a regrind to a cursive italic because I thought that I should have at least one pen with a CI nib, just to try it out. I liked how it turned out so I had more done. If you rotate your grip a lot (like I do), you may find the crisp edges of a cursive italic nib to be a little difficult to use. That’s exactly what led me to a left oblique cursive italic. I like the slanted line a lot, and it’s more forgiving of my rotating grip. I think JP did a good job on these nibs. The beauty of getting a custom grind done is that you can have it customized to how you want to hold your pen, how crisp you want the lines to be, etcetera. I’m glad I added more CIs in my collection.

If you’re looking into getting some nibwork done, you can try contacting JP through his FB account. You may also join Fountain Pen Network Philippines.

One thought on “On Custom Nibwork

Doodle here...

