Review: Pilot Custom Heritage 92


P4042032

I got this pen several weeks back. I was just a little too busy to post a proper review. It’s been in my pen case from the time I got it, though. It’s hard to put this pen down.

P4042045

It’s a beautiful pen. I’m not really into demonstrators but I do have a few in my collection. This one is a pretty nice addition. There’s something about demonstrators that look so clean and cool. I also like to look at the ink sloshing around the barrel. It’s a pretty pen, I must admit. The size is comfortable for my hands, but I think that people with larger hands will find it a bit on the small side. I like the size, though. I can grip it comfortably and it’s well balanced whether you post the cap or not.

P4042036

The piston is very smooth. It’s probably the smoothest piston I’ve used right out of the box. The large ink capacity makes it ideal for long writing sessions.

I like the little details of this pen. I like the ring around the cap that says Custom Heritage 92, the simple clip with a slightly beveled look, the way the nib aligns perfectly with the clip when capped, the simple design of the piston. Everything about it is simple and understated.

IMG_4121 IMG_4122 IMG_4123 IMG_4125

I like the design of the nib too. I think it’s pretty intricate, very nicely done. Although I was a little disappointed that I needed to floss it to increase the ink flow. It was a little bit dry, although I already expected that from a Japanese nib. It wrote smoothly, yes, but I wanted it to write wetter, so I flossed it a bit.

IMG_4120

After increasing the ink flow to my preferred level, writing with it was just wonderful. It’s smooth with a tiny hint of feedback. Smooth like butter. The nib is springy and offers a bit of line variation, but I really don’t write cursive so that’s not very important to me.

Here is a video of the writing sample:

I used it with different inks and it writes very well with all of them.

Overall, I love that this pen is such a smooth writer. I love the size and weight too. I wouldn’t recommend it for people with big hands, though. I got this one at a good price through a preorder from PensGalore. It’s a nice mid-level pen with a lovely 14k nib.

One thought on “Review: Pilot Custom Heritage 92

  1. Jaz says:

    Good review Pao as always. Love your juicy hand writing.
    I bought a one like this pen a couple of years ago but I found the nib to be scratchy. It was too much Hassel to send it back to the seller in Japan and I couldn’t the nib despite my efforts, so it has been sitting at the back of the drawer ever since. Now seeing yours, I am going to dig it out next week and try it with a different ink.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Doodle here...

