Ink Swab: Noodler’s Liberty’s Elysium


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few weeks ago, I received a bottle of Noodler’s Liberty’s Elysium from friends. I’ve long been curious about this ink since it’s not locally available (it was exclusively made for Goulet Pens). I am so happy that I was able to try this out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first impression was that it’s an uncomplicated, vibrant blue. It has no sheen to it, it’s not bling-y. It’s just a beautiful shade of vibrant, vivid blue. It dries up relatively fast. In my Waterman Expert II (photo above), which is a wet writer with a left oblique cursive italic nib, it dries up between 10 to 15 seconds.

The flow is also good. It hasn’t dried up on me yet, or clogged my nib, and I’ve been using it regularly since late last month. I like that it’s a very nicely saturated blue that you can use for daily writing. I also like that it has nice shading. Check out the close up shots of my writing samples below.

IMG_3723IMG_3724IMG_3728IMG_3729IMG_3722

The shading is not crazy, but I think it’s beautiful. It’s slightly dark blue-darker blue. I like it a lot. There’s no nib creep either, for people who are bothered by that sort of thing.

It’s not exactly water proof, but it’s water resistant. Especially if you dry it out thoroughly first before testing. A pretty nice blue ink. I’m happy to add it to my ink collection. ^_^

4 thoughts on “Ink Swab: Noodler’s Liberty’s Elysium

  1. Thank you for that very detailed post with the many close-up and full-size pictures. That -really- wants me to get this ink. This is certainly going into my “to try” list for the perfect blue I have yet to find.
    Seems I really have to let Goulet ship overseas sometimes for me… The pains of not living in the US, I feel them again.
    I love your handwriting, btw. Beautiful script.

    Like

  2. Pao says:

    I love this ink! Too bad it’s not offered in other countries. It’s such a vibrant blue, nice flow too. I might just panic when the bottle goes half-empty haha.

    Like

  3. 🙂 I totally can understand that. And in the time of internet and international shipping, that shouldn’t be too big a hurdle, really. I will order with them at some point, I’m certain of that.
    On the blue topic, did you try out the Diamine Blue Velvet yet? It’s of their 150 year series and my current front runner in terms of blues. I haven’t yet had time to put up my full review yet, but if you’re curious I got a (short) sentence of it in my Rhodia review (2nd page) here:
    https://readingpensandgaming.wordpress.com/2016/04/10/paper-rhodia-80g-spiral-bound-note-book/

    I’m still very amazed at the Noodler’s water resistance, though. Most of my current inks run away from water. Like really… as if they were never there. 🙂

    Like

    • Pao says:

      Ooh, that is nice. I haven’t tried Blue Velvet yet. I’m just beginning to discover blue inks, honestly. I’m more of a brown and green ink lover. ^_^ At the top of my list of favorite blues is Noodler’s Blue Black. Blue Velvet looks nice, though.

      Like

Doodle here...

