DotDotDot–Discovering Stippling


It’s my first time to try the stippling technique, although I’ve always been fascinated by it. I was so completely intimidated by it that it took me this long to try it out. I’m glad I did, though. It only goes to show that you really will never know if you are going to enjoy something unless you try it. Of course my first attempt was a fish. I love drawing fish. It’s one of the most relaxing things to do, for me at least. For a first attempt, I’m pretty happy with it, and I’m surprised that I am able to draw different shade better with this technique. I don’t know how else to explain it but that it feels comfortable for me.

PC309878

I used the sketchbook insert from Midori for these drawings. I like the texture and the thickness of the pages. For once, I’m not worried about wrinkling the paper when I erase the pencil drawing.

IMG_3607Here is a closer look at how the dots were drawn for the koi’s eye. I’m fascinated by how grouping more dots together makes for a darker shade, and scattering them makes lighter shades. It’s a little painful on the hand, but it’s alright. I guess it’s also good that it forces me to slow down and think about what I’m drawing. It’s a lot of fun, and it’s very relaxing. I did a few more after this one.

PC309877

A dragonfly.

PC309875

A very chubby, fluffy sparrow (need to work on my proportions, lol)

My second favorite so far (after the koi fish, of course), is this drawing of a Philippine Eagle which I did today, during my break time.

There’s a lot of textures in the beak, so I spent a lot of time on that. I dunno why but it’s so therapeutic just poke-poke-poking on the paper with a pen. Haha. Here’s a photo of the eagle before it was finished.

PC309873

Here it is towards the end of my lunch break. I added a few more details on the wings after I took this photo, but I didn’t change it much. I kinda like it the way it is already. šŸ™‚

IMG_3611

Of course, a Superman drawing for my husband. šŸ™‚

IMG_3623

Stippling is lotsa fun! I wish I tried it sooner. šŸ™‚

Doodle here...

