Of Other Hobbies


PC229446

I noticed something recently. Many of my fountain pen collector friends, and other members of the fountain pen community that I am a member of, are also knife collectors or at least insist on carrying a knife on them everyday. Other popular secondary hobbies are cycling (which I don’t share), painting, and photography.

PC229443

I find it interesting that a group of people gravitate towards similar hobbies. My tools for today are a Faber Castell Emotion and a Browning Scrimshaw Labrador. I think they fit perfectly together. 🙂

The knife is a gift from my  husband. I used to have a larger knife collection when I was in high school, but my parents did not approve of me carrying them around. So I had to give my collection up. Now I am just starting to rebuild it, and this one is a favorite. The workmanship is just beautiful. I like this knife because it has an old-timey feel to it. It’s kinda dressy (for a knife) and not too rugged. Perhaps not something you’d carry in a camping trip, but just perfect as an everyday pocket knife.

PC229415

I don’t know why I’ve always had this fascination with knives, even when I was in my elementary school days. My favorite were balisong knives or fan knives. I grew quite adept in handling knives at an early age. Like I always say, better have it and not need it than need it and not have it. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Of Other Hobbies

  1. Same here. I used to keep a knife with me since I often came home late. Sad to say my parents were also against my growing and deadly(according to them) collection.

    Like

  2. waistline32 says:

    OMG. And she loves knives, too! Fun Fact: Butterfly exclusively from Balisong, Batangas can carry the name “Balisong”. Kinda like Champagne can only come from Champagne, France.

    Like

    • Pao says:

      I didn’t know that! Good to know. 🙂 I love balisong knives, they were my preferred knives in my younger years.

      Like

Doodle here...

