Yummy, Yummy Paper


PB298859

I love these Tomoe River journals. It’s part of the reason why I’m so excited about using my Hobonichi Cousin this coming year. It will double as my planner and art journal.

What I love most about this paper is that it’s delicate looking (what with all that subtle show through) but it’s tougher than it looks. It actually looks like tracing paper, and you can slip in a lined pad underneath so that you can write straight lines on the blank pages. I like that even when I include simple watercolor paintings on it, the journal entry I wrote on the back of the page doesn’t get smudged. You can even make watercolor paintings on either side of the page and both paintings will hold up really well.

PB298861

Sometimes I put layers of washes on it and rub my brushes vigorously on the paper and it just takes it. It’s even better than some of the watercolor papers that I tried. It’s a great paper for including art in your journal entries. I also read somewhere that the properties of the paper will make sure that the colors of your paintings don’t change over the years. I’m really hoping that’s right.

PB298866

Note to self…my detail brushes need to be replaced. They’re already beginning to fan out. These tiny brushes are super cool to use on small paintings. 🙂

(Curnow A5 Tomoe River Journals are available at Pengrafik.com)

2 thoughts on “Yummy, Yummy Paper

Doodle here...

