A Happy Mess of Stamps and Stamp Pads


PA217973

Today, the rest of my stamp pad purchases from Crafty Lane arrived through a courier. I added the flower pot set to my collection because I thought the colors were really pretty. Suffice it to say that I made a happy mess on my table today. I’m very happy with my experience with Crafty Lane. Prompt responses, no hassle payment and shipping methods. Her prices are very reasonable too. *high five, sis!* I don’t see these stamp pads in book stores (or maybe I’m just not looking?), so I’m really happy they’re available online. These online craft shops are pretty awesome.

PA217983

Since it’s my first time to try out stamp pads, I’m surprised that there are so many colors available. Honestly, my only idea about stamp pads are those you use at the office (watery, dark purple ink). These are pretty different. I love the vibrant colors and how they really just pop on the page.

PA217970

(L-R) Lilac Posies, Spanish Olive, Potter’s Clay, Ocean Depth, Red Brick

The top colors are the first ones that I tried. Lilac Posies is scented, and I love the color but it has a tendency to bleed through paper. I would recommend using this on thicker kinds of paper. I think the Memento stamps in my collection (Lilac Posies and Potter’s Clay) are a bit more watery than the others because they’re made of dye ink. The texture feels different. Potter’s Clay doesn’t bleed as much, though. I would recommend just a few dabs on these before applying the stamp on paper.

PA217971

The flowerpot collection is pretty awesome. I absolutely love the colors. Aside from Lilac Posies and Brick Red, the rest of my collection uses chalk ink, so it feels a bit thicker. They’re not very prone to bleed through paper, either.

PA217976

The way these stamp pads are designed makes it easy to get the ink on stamps, even if they are small. Plus, they’re pretty easy to carry around in a pencil case. I’m not really sure what they’re made of, it feels like a dense cake that holds a lot of ink. Just a few light dabs on them is enough to get sufficient ink on the stamps.

Here’s an example of how I used stamp pads on my journal entries. I’m still feeling my way around it, but it’s super fun and that’s really all that matters.

IMG_3082

To me, the greatest pleasure of writing is not what it’s about, but the inner music the words make. ~Truman Capote

Doodle here...

