Review: Pilot 78G, Fine


P9127071

I love Pilot fountain pens. I think their entry level pens offer the best value for money. I often buy Metropolitans and 78Gs and somehow I still find myself running out of them because I often give them to people who are not yet familiar with fountain pens, to help get them started with the hobby.

P9127046

I bought this pen from Everything Calligraphy, and I’m glad they still have black 78Gs because this color is always out of stock whenever I try to buy from other local sources. I think that the appeal of the 78G is that it doesn’t look like an entry level pen. I like the design a lot, especially this color. The black and gold-colored trims look very presentable.

P9127040

I like the squarish clip of this pen. The pen is very light in the hand. I prefer the weight of the Metropolitan, but this does make it easier to use for long writing or drawing sessions. The pen uses a proprietary squeeze converter. The cap twists off the barrel and posts comfortably at the end of the pen. This pen, I prefer to use posted just for the added weight of the cap.

P9127043

The length is pretty decent too,here it is with a Pilot Vanishing Point. The length is very comfortable in the hand. Even the length of the section is very comfortable. The material of the body is plastic, and of course it doesn’t feel very thick or sturdy. I haven’t dropped any of my 78G’s yet, but I don’t think it will survive a fall. At least your heart will survive if you drop it, it’s not ridiculously expensive.

P9127051

The best feature of this pen though is its nib. As always, Pilot’s nibs are just excellent. Even their entry level pens are smooth, wet writers. You would be surprised at how the nib is at par with many of my mid level pens. They tend to be really fine, though (because these are Japanese nibs).

IMG_2791I usually prefer medium nibs for everyday writing, but of course there are times when you need to use fine nibs because of paper quality. Government forms, for example, would not be suitable for medium nibs. I bought this pen for my drawings, though. Here’s an example of a quick sketch. The fine nib of this 78G is not as fine as a Pilot Birdie’s, but it is fine enough to be used for detail work.

Here’s a video of a writing sample below. You can see that even with such a fine nib, it writes smoothly and the flow is so good.

Overall, I think the 78G is one of the best entry level pens that you can buy. The price is very affordable, and the nib is excellent. It’s very light, it doesn’t feel too sturdy, but for its price and nib quality, I would recommend this over other entry level pens. If you’re on a tight budget or if you just want to get your feet wet and see if using fountain pens will work out for you, this pen offers great quality without breaking the bank. It’s also pretty awesome for pen and ink sketches. 🙂

P9127079

Faber Castell eMotion, Pilot 78G, small Elias Notebook in a Pentone case.

In this review:
Pen – Pilot 78G, Black, Fine Nib from Everything Calligraphy
Paper – Elias notepad also from Everything Calligraphy
Ink – Diamine Music Set – Vivaldi

Doodle here...

