Review: Pelikan M600 Striated Blue, Medium


P8146273

A couple of days ago, this pen arrived in the mail. I’ve had it on my wishlist since last year. After I bought my first Pelikan (a Pelikan M200 tradition), I knew that I will want to add another one to my collection soon. I’m not one to want to acquire too many pens. I’ve slowed down my acquisition to the few pens on my (relatively short) wishlist. I was trying to decide between getting an M800 or an M600. I was assuming that the M800 would be better because…well, it’s more expensive and is a newer design.

I went to pen meets to try out M600’s, M800’s and even M1000’s. My pen bestie’s M600 (striated green) seemed like the best fit for me. It’s lighter than the M800 because there’s no metal parts in the piston, but that’s actually preferable because my hand is prone to fatigue when holding heavier pens. Fast forward to a few days ago, I decided it’s time to cross this pen out from my wishlist, and I did find a great deal from a local collector. I was so excited to try it out when I got it.

P8146269

Since I already tried my pen bestie’s M600, I already knew that the size and heft is perfect for my hand. The blue striated barrel is really beautiful. I’ve looked at it longingly many times through Scribe’s store window. Everything about this pen exudes class and excellent workmanship.

P8146270

Here is a size comparison with my Pelikan M200. Compared with the M200, the M600 is longer and fatter. There’s more pen to this pen. The M200 is light and a lot of fun to use, and since the pen is an old-style Pelikan, the stainless steel nib is really excellent (albeit very simple-looking). I expected nothing less from the M600.

P8146295

The design clues on this pen points to a manufacture date of between 1998 to 2003. Not a vintage pen by a long shot. I was really happy to find this particular pen at the price point that I got it because I really wanted the blue striated version. The green striated barrel has been around longer so it’s more often associated with Pelikan pens, but I find the blue barrel to be more my style.

P8146284

It is very comfortable to write with, as you can see. I think the M600 is my favorite size among the Souveran line because it’s not so imposing to look at and I can write for hours without feeling any strain.

P8146280

The clip, cap and finial are beautiful too. It’s just some of the things that are distinctively Pelikan. The piston is also smooth and tight. It really gives you that well-made feel. Here’s a closer look at the finial:

P8146310

It’s a mommy pelican feeding her chicks. Awww.

P8146312

The nib is just beautiful. I love the scroll work on it, and of course I love that it writes so well. That two-tone nib is just gorgeous. I got an 18k medium nib which writes wet, without looking like the nib is sprung. It’s such a pleasant nib to write with–has a hint of feedback, and is a bit on the stubbish side. I can write with this pen for hours and not get bored with it! Here is a video of the writing sample:

Overall, I am very pleased with this pen. This is a fitting pen to give myself for my birthday (even if it is a month early). Would I recommend it? Definitely. Especially if you can get it at a good price. Would I recommend it over an M800? It really depends on your preference. It would be great if you can try out the different sizes of the Souveran line first before you purchase one so that you can make a better decision about which size to pick. Some like heavier, bigger pens. I have tried different sizes and this one is perfect for me. Trying it out is part of your research, and oh gosh, that’s one of the fun parts. 🙂

In this review:
Pen – Pelikan M600, Medium
Ink – Pilot Iroshizuku Asa-Gao
Paper – Elias Notebooks’ notepad

Doodle here...

