Ink Swab: Rohrer and Klingner Alt Bordeaux


P8086120

When Elias announced that they will carry Rohrer and Klingner inks, I was ecstatic. This means more options for fountain pen users, and of course, I’ll finally get a steady supply of one of my favorite greens, Alt Goldgrun. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what other color to try from Rohrer and Klingner except for Alt Goldgrun. I was looking for a nice purple ink, though, so I thought I’d give Alt Bordeaux a try.

P8116137

I loaded up my Bexley Corona with the 1.1mm nib and my first impression was “Heeey, this works super well with this pen! OTP!” I used it for a few days before I wrote this review. It’s pretty interesting how it dries up to different shades depending on the paper you use.

P8116136

It has an average drying time, about 15 seconds. It’s not very water resistant. When wet, it reminds me of Welch’s grape juice. It’s that color of dark purple or mauve that’s pretty serious without being too sombre. It flows very wet, and I guess it will give more pronounced shading if you use it with a medium nibbed pen. My 1.1mm nib is a wet writer so it doesn’t give very pronounced shading when the ink flows wet and is saturated.

On Elias notepad, the ink looks very much like mauve. It reminds me of J. Herbin’s Poussiere de Lune. The color doesn’t change much as it dries, it just becomes a bit lighter.

P8116151

On Elias Notepad

When I write on other white paper (I think this one’s Muji? I can’t remember) the reddish undertones of the ink show through more. It looks more like dark magenta than dark purple.

P8116161

On Muji’s white paper

On cream-colored paper, though, it’s like it’s a different ink color altogether. It’s mauve when wet, but dries to an old rose color which is pretty amazing. It’s like the more serious older sister of Yama Budo.

P8116145

Curnow’s A5 Journal – Tomoe River Paper

P8116146

Curnow’s A5 Journal – Tomoe River Paper

All in all, I just love, love, love, this ink. Even when I use it on cream-colored paper and it dries to a shade of old rose, I’d still say it’s fit for daily writing. It’s a lovely color and a well-behaved ink. I’m very happy with it.

In this review:
Ink – Rohrer and Klingner Alt Bordeaux from Everything Calligraphy
Pen – Bexley Corona Blueberry Cream, 1.1mm nib
Paper – Elias Notepad, Muji, Curnow A5 Cream-colored Journal with Tomoe River Paper

Doodle here...

