On the Individuality of Handwriting


Here’s a very nice article about how handwriting is an expression of one’s individual personality and history –> Dancing With Words.

It was mostly my mom who taught me how to write, and she made practice sheets for me to learn how to write in cursive at an early age. However, as soon as I’m not required to write in cursive anymore, I adapted a kind of handwriting that I imitated from my father. Bold, squarish letters that stand right up, like the copperplate font. As I grew older, my handwriting became a combination of my dad’s and mom’s. Slanted and curving bold letters.

IMG_1761

Handwriting also shows our emotions. When I’m excited, the peaks in my writing become more pointed as I write faster. When I’m angry, the letters are wider and the corners are sharper. It’s a good observation. The article is a nice read.

Doodle here...

