Ink Comparison: Three Beautiful Green Inks


If I haven’t said so many, many times before, I love green ink. If I can own only one color of ink and use everyday, it would be green (with brown being the close second). I recently tried three different green inks that were kind of similar but also remarkably different. All three have been on my wishlist for quite some time, so I’m happy to finally have the time to do a side by side comparison.

P7125817

All inks have great flow (though Wagner is a tad drier than the other two) and they dry up very well. You’d think that Wagner would be difficult to read but it’s really not. Here are a few close ups:

P7125832

Wagner is decidedly yellow-green. I wrote the sample with a Waterman Gentleman with a semi-flexible fine nib. My favorite pen to use with this is the Sheaffer Flattop (which is not working well at the moment) because it plays super well with wet writers. You’ll see the dark green component of the ink with wet nibs, this makes for very expressive shading. I like to use it with fine, wet writers to set off the contrast of light and dark colors. Medium nibs bring out the green component of the ink more than the yellow.

P7125829

Rohrer and Klingner’s Alt Goldgrun is pretty unique. I don’t have a green ink that has a color too close to this. It’s one of those inks that will make you go whut? when you first see it. The olive green is set off perfectly by the golden yellow component of the ink. The shading shows off the depth of the ink and its character beautifully. My only gripe is that in some kinds of paper (the more absorbent kind), it dries to a dull brownish green.

P7125827

Diamine Safari is olive green with some hints of brown. I must admit that for daily writing, this is my preferred ink because it is more highly saturated compared to the other two. It’s like Diamine Dark Olive except that it’s got some brown undertones to it that is even more apparent with its shading. Sometimes the colors are too similar and you’ll only notice the difference when the shading becomes more pronounced. It is also more resistant to changing its color across different kinds of paper. Of course, different shades of olive green ink goes along very well with cream-colored paper.

I’d love to do a closer review of these inks when time permits. 🙂

Used in this review:
Waterman Gentleman (18k Fine nib) – Diamine Wagner
Cross Century II, medium – R&K Alt Goldgrun
Parker 75, extra fine nib – Diamine Safari
Notebook – Curnow A5 journal using Tomoe River paper from Pengrafik

One thought on “Ink Comparison: Three Beautiful Green Inks

  1. Jaz says:

    I really like your reviews. I ordered Diamond Safari after reading your review for that I nkand awaiting delivery. Keep going.

    Like

Doodle here...

