De-Clogging an Old Pen (I Missed You, Ole Faithful!)


P6125231

This Sheaffer Lifetime Senior is one of my favorite pens. It’s also my oldest pen, being made in the 1920’s. It’s a wonderful and reliable writer, and it looks properly gorgeous in its beat up kind of way. That’s why I was so sad to notice several weeks ago that it would suddenly stop writing after a few lines. It was intermittent. Sometimes I get to finish half a page without incident, sometimes it dries up after a few lines. I flossed the tines, flushed it several times, all to no avail. It would write well at first, and then it would just suddenly stop.

I looked through the loupe and noticed that it has little bits of ink gunk coming out of the tines. I thought that it’s having a bad reaction to the new ink that I tried. Perhaps I did not clean out the last ink I loaded it with? I flushed it some more but the tiny bit of ink gunk would always reappear, and always at the end of the nib.

Some of my friends suggested that I flush it with warm, soapy water. So I did that and thought that maybe i’ll soak the inside of the cap too. Lo and behold, I saw what looks like a layer of dried up ink in the inner cap. I tried to scrape that off with cotton buds but it looks like i need to soak it more and scrape off the sides too.

P6125229

I did a preliminary cleaning and viola! It’s writing well again. šŸ™‚ There’s still a bit of gunk left on the inner cap, so I’ll keep at it until I’m satisfied that it’s completely clean.

My takeaways from this experience…

  • DON’T submerge a lever-filler vintage pen in an ultrasonic bath
  • Replace the original sac with a silicone sac (I will do this soon, promise)
  • Clean out ink spills from the inner cap too
  • Don’t panic, pen friends are great resources for times like this. šŸ™‚

I’m happy to have you back, Ole Faithful! I missed you a lot.

P6125223

Ink is Diamine Wagner, journal is from Elias Notebooks

As you can see, a whole page and a quarter without any incident, and more after taking this photo. šŸ™‚ Yay!

Doodle here...

