1930’s to 1980’s


P6054987

I took this when I was taking photos of pens that I wanted to use for a comparison of different clips in my review about my newly-acquired cedar blue Parker 51 yesterday. There are pens that are redundant in my collection (two of the same kind) so I just picked out one of each. I’m a Parker gal, and though I find a lot of vintage pens to be very, very beautifully done (and really, the workmanship in many of them is quite superb), I have a soft spot for Parker pens.

P6054993

(L-R) Golden Brown Vacumatic, Azure Blue Pearl Vacumatic, 75, 51 Special, Cedar Blue 51 Vac, GF cap 51 Vac, 21, 51 Vac, 88

Here is a closer look at their clips. They’re all different in their own unique ways. I like the clips with the art deco arrows or those that are simpler versions of them. Like the Vacumatics and the 51’s and 75’s. The 88 (rightmost) has a nice clip too. The quiver is longer than usual. I guess my least favorite is the 21’s clip and the modern Parkers’ clips. I have to admit that modern Parkers don’t hold any appeal for me. They just look and feel different from the old Parkers. The clips, especially, look very uninspired and industrial. There’s not much character to them, and not much detail. I love how the old Parker clips’ quivers are detailed and exquisitely-made.

I have just a few more Parker 51 and Vacumatics’ colors on my wishlist and I’ll be quite happy with my collection. πŸ™‚

Doodle here...

