Ink Swab: Diamine Prussian Blue


P6055031

Blue is always a wonderfully safe color to use for writing. I was initially surprised to discover that I have more blue inks than my favorite colors (green and brown) but I realized that blue is my choice for daily writing and for work. I recently tried Diamine Prussian Blue and, as always, I’m pleasantly surprised at how different inks can be from each other, even if they belong to the same color family. This blue is definitely different from the ones that I already have.

P6055030

Perhaps it is a little closer to Diamine Denim, except that it is more bluish-grey in person. It reminds me of the color of my brother’s blue bar pigeons. It’s not your run-of-the-mill ballpoint blue, it’s not spectacularly vibrant or complex-looking. It’s like something I would use in a watercolor painting of a dock in a quiet, summer day.

P6055032

This ink is a subdued, conservative color of dark blue. I’d wear this color in a heartbeat. 🙂 The ink flow is moderate, slightly on the dry side. Surprisingly, though, it takes a long time to dry (20-25 seconds). Lefties might find this a bit on the smudgy side, but I guess that still depends on your nib’s wetness and your paper.

P6055033

This ink is not particularly water resistant. It leaves a faint light grey line where the water is wiped off, but that’s about it. It also has some beautiful, expressive shading. I like the blue-grey and dark-blue grey variations in color. Here are a few close ups of the writing sample:

P6055028 P6055024 P6055025

Overall, a great candidate for everyday writing. I enjoyed this ink a lot, I’m glad that I tried it.

Used in this review:
Diamine Prussian Blue from Elias Notebooks
Large Dot Grid Journal from Elias Notebooks
Cross Century II, Medium

One thought on “Ink Swab: Diamine Prussian Blue

Doodle here...

