Ink Swab: Diamine Green Black


P6055043

Green inks are awesome. I find that I prefer dark green inks for everyday writing, but I think that generally speaking, green inks are da bomb. Here’s another beautiful ink discovery through Elias Notebooks‘ ink swabs.

Diamine Green Black is a rich, velvet green color. It is a highly-saturated green. I’m not sure if it’s saturated enough to be called green black, perhaps it is. I find that the green component of this ink is a close match to Tokiwa Matsu, like dark pine green without the red sheen that makes Tokiwa Matsu’s color very distinct and complex.

P6055044

This ink has some shading in it, which I appreciate isn’t very common in highly saturated ink. It dries a bit slow and has a moderate flow. It does not show feathering on cheaper, thinner paper. Overall, I’d say it’s a very well-behaved ink.

P6055047

It’s not very water-proof, even if it is highly saturated. It’s a very serious shade of green. It’s an ink I would be perfectly comfortable using at work. It dries a bit darker after a while, and it looks like a very good ink for daily use. Not crazy-looking green, nor is it difficult to read. I love it. I love it a lot.

Here are a few close-up shots of the writing sample:

P6055020 P6055019 P6055018

Used in this review:
Diamine Green Black from Elias Notebooks‘ Ink Samples
Elias Notebooks’ dot grid, large journal
Cross Century II, Medium

Doodle here...

