Diamine Purples and Blues Roundup


Blue and Purple ink samples from Elias Notebooks

Blue inks are a revelation to me. I’ve never considered myself a blue ballpoint pen user. In fact, I hardly carried blue pens before I got into fountain pens. When I discovered Diamine inks last year, I was surprised at the sheer number of variations of blue ink. I’m surprised to find out that I even have more blue inks than my favorite colors (brown and green). Here’s a roundup of the ink samples that I got from Elias Notebooks.

Blue and Purple ink samples from Elias Notebooks

My collection of bottled purple inks is pretty dismal. I was only able to try out different kinds of purple through the ink samples offered by Elias Notebooks. I think my favorites would be Bilberry and Amazing Amethyst (in that order). I love Bilberry because of its golden sheen and its blue-violet hue, but Amazing Amethyst is also a very pretty purple ink. I actually wrote a separate review for it, I’ll post that soon. I do have a large bottle of Bilberry and it’s pretty fascinating that the gold sheen shows up even when I use it with pens that have fine nibs. Damson is a dark berry-colored ink, a very serious purple that would be great for regular writing.

Diamine Purples and Blues are available at Elias Notebooks

I forgot to include Diamine Denim in the list, which is a shame because that’s my favorite blue, and it’s what I use for signing official documents in the office. I think a close second would be Prussian Blue. It’s an interesting shade of blue with a bit of grey. I made a mental note of purchasing a small bottle of Beau Blue, which will be great for highlighting or making little notes in books that I read. Definitely not very suitable for daily writing, but inks as light as this are good to use with xf or Japanese f nibs to annotate or underline pages with thin paper (like Bibles).

Diamine Ink Samples are available with Elias Notebooks

Watch out for individual reviews soon. šŸ™‚

Used in this ink roundup:
Paper – lined large journal from Elias Notebooks
Ink samples from Elias Notebooks
Pens – Cross Century II (M), Lamy Studio (F)

One thought on “Diamine Purples and Blues Roundup

Doodle here...

