Elias Notebooks’ New Pen Cases


I’ve always believed that if you value something, you should make the effort to keep it safe. I value my pens as my companions in writing, so I make the extra effort to find suitable cases for them. I started off with pen wraps (and I still use them sometimes), then an assortment of leather cases.

Elias Notebooks recently released a single slot pen slip, and two- and three-slot leather pen cases. I got the single pen slip and two-pen case and I’ve been using these for several days now.

Olive Green and Maroon Suede Pen Cases from Elias Notebooks

Olive Green and Maroon Suede Pen Cases from Elias Notebooks

These colors (olive green and maroon in leather suede) were specially produced to celebrate the launching of the De Atramentis inks that they are distributing. I got the De Atramentis Olive Green and Van Dyck Brown inks so I’m really happy to have matching pen cases too (the maroon case can pass for a reddish brown or a dark purple).

Perhaps one of the challenges of finding pen cases for fountain pen newbies like me is the fact that these cases can be so expensive. Nothing wrong with expensive cases, of course, but it’s always good to have a more affordable option that also looks good. I’m glad that Elias isn’t ridiculously expensive at all (P300 for the 2-slot pen case, P400 for the 3-slot case and P150 for the slip). These prices are reasonable and very accessible even for pen newbies.

Olive Green and Maroon Leather Suede Cases

Olive Green and Maroon Leather Suede Cases

I like that the pen cases has dividers. It’s a challenge to find these in bookstores, the options are so limited. There is an overabundance of pencil cases, but finding a decent one with dividers in it is quite a challenge that FP-users who find great products eagerly share their finds through the Fountain Pen Network Philippines Facebook group and forum. The pen community is a pretty cool place to find information about accessories, pens, papers, etc. I actually heard about Elias through a pen friend in that community too.

Two Parker 51's with gold-filled caps

Two Parker 51’s with gold-filled caps

The two-slot pen case comfortably fits some moderately fat pens like Parker 51’s. I can also fit in what I would consider to  be larger pens (at least in my collection) like the Sheaffer Lifetime Senior, TWSBI Micarta, and Bexley Corona. It’s a snug fit, but it offers very little resistance when I pull the pens out. Leather is soft suede in texture, I can comfortably slip the clips without feeling that the clips are being over-extended. I love the olive green color of this case a lot. I also like that the suede looks soft and the interior is also soft enough not to scratch the pens.

Elias Notebooks' Logo

Elias Notebooks’ Logo

Of course, the logos are a nice touch for both cases. I like that for the two-slot pen case, the logo is on the flap where it’s visible. I love the novels Noli and El Fili. What a very suitable logo for fountain pen accessories. 🙂

Single pen slip

Single pen slip

As for the single pen slip…I wasn’t really sure if I would ever like using a slip. I’ve never carried just one pen, so I never bought one for myself. This is my first slip and I’m so happy I got it. It’s a complete “duh” moment when I realized that sometimes you really have no time to carefully unwrap a pen wrap, or unzip a pen case, or pull out a flap or whatever. Sometimes you need to whip out your pen in a jiffy–no fuss, no frills. A slip lets you do just that, while still protecting your pen efficiently.

Pen slip on a stack of journals

TWSBI Micarta in a pen slip on a stack of journals

Surprisingly, I’ve enjoyed this case the most these past few days. I also brought it along for short trips when I don’t think I will need all my other pens but I still want to bring one just in case. It’s very easy to use and the price is very budget-friendly. I already ordered a green slip, to match the two-slot pen case.

Pen cases on a stack of Elias Journals

Pen cases on a stack of Elias Journals

Overall, I think that the price is right for these pen cases. They’re very light and convenient to carry around, and I love the material used on both cases. I also like that they look simple and durable.

In these photos:
All notebooks are from Elias Notebooks
Two Parker 51’s with gold-filled caps
Parker 75 in sterling silver cisele
Bexley Corona
TWSBI Micarta
Pilot Capless
De Atramentis Van Dyck Brown and Olive Green (also from Elias)

Note: Prices of these cases are current as of today. They may change in the future.

2 thoughts on “Elias Notebooks’ New Pen Cases

  1. I bought a two-pen case (brown leather) to match my small Elias notebook and I love it! The feel is so luxurious but the price is not that steep. Elias is really doing it right!

    Like

    • Pao says:

      Pat, I agree. Collecting pens is expensive enough. I am happy to see pen cases that aren’t expensive but look great. Try the pen slip too, it’s really convenient.

      Like

Doodle here...

