Journal Tips and Writing Prompts for May


Everyday, I try to set aside a time to write in my journal. I discovered that if you are actively looking for time, you find a lot of it spread out even in busy days. I wrote in another blog entry that I often write at length about my meditations on the Bible for that day. I absolutely love it when I have long stretches of time to do this, and I always feel very refreshed afterwards.

Sometimes, I like to put pictures in my journals and write about the memories that go with the photos.

12914_10153557561313868_2741155188912503801_n

I have six nephews and nieces, and I oftentimes have them in mind while I write. I want to think that I’ll pass on these journals to them when I’m gone and they will read about my thoughts on the world during my youth, and they’ll see photos of themselves and see how much they’re loved and cherished. I know everything is digital these days but there’s still something so great about seeing printed photos. Being able to hold them in your hand and see where time wore out some places, that’s something.

I prefer to use a glue stick to put photos in my journals, but you can also use washi tape. I wouldn’t recommend liquid glue because it deforms the paper too much. Adding printed photos to your journal is a visual reminder that, in my opinion, shouldn’t take away from how you recall the details through your words.

For those who need a few more writing prompts for their journal entries, how about these (and you can add photos too, if you want):

  1. Write an open letter for your future self.
  2. Write a happy memory you have of your mom.
  3. What did you want to be when you grew up?
  4. Describe the street where you grew up.
  5. Write an open letter to God.

Happy writing!

Doodle here...

