Ink Swab: De Atramentis Olive Green


De Atramentis Olive Green - Distributed by Elias Notebooks in the Philippines

I’ve always had a soft spot for brown and green inks, but I am almost always infatuated with olive greens. So when I saw this color in Elias Notebook‘s line up of new De Atramentis inks for sale, I snapped it up (my precioussssss!) and it arrived yesterday afternoon.

De Atramentis Olive Green - Distributed by Elias Notebooks in the Philippines

De Atramentis is one of the oldest ink-manufacturers in the world. It’s not what you would call an inexpensive fountain pen ink, but I think there’s good reason for that. My first impression when I saw the ink is that the bottle is very pretty. I like that the opening is wide enough to comfortably fit large pens even at an angle, while filling.

De Atramentis Olive Green - Distributed by Elias Notebooks in the Philippines

I used a Parker 75 with a #63 nib on this. You can see that the writing is fine, but (oh joy) the ink flows wet. The flow is so excellent that it writes so smoothly in an extra fine nib. The shading is also very beautiful. I read one review that described this color as olives in different shades, and I think that’s pretty accurate.

It’s not water proof, though like De Atramentis Van Dyck, it leaves a blackish mark where the ink color used to be.

De Atramentis Olive Green - Distributed by Elias Notebooks in the Philippines

I’m pretty much in love with this ink. It is different from Diamine Dark Olive (POGI) because its shading offers more complex colors of olive green. Of course it does not diminish my love for POGI, they’re just a bit different. The flow is incredible and I’m surprised that even with an extra fine nib, the shading is wonderfully expressive. Below are a few closeup shots of the writing sample.

De Atramentis Olive Green - Distributed by Elias Notebooks in the Philippines De Atramentis Olive Green - Distributed by Elias Notebooks in the Philippines De Atramentis Olive Green - Distributed by Elias Notebooks in the Philippines

If you’re looking for an expressive green ink that has complex shades of olive green which has good saturation and does not look boring, this…is…it! It’s very nicely saturated, not too light and not too dark. The moderate saturation really makes the character of the ink shine through. It’s pretty good for everyday writing. It’s incredibly gorgeous and I love it a lot!

Below is a scan of the writing sample.

da olive green001

Used in this review:
Ink – De Atramentis Olive Green (From Elias Notebooks)
Paper – Elias Notebook, large, dot grid
Pen – Parker 75 with a #63 nib

2 thoughts on “Ink Swab: De Atramentis Olive Green

Doodle here...

