Parker 75’s Nifty Feature


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve only been using my Parker 75s for a few days and it’s already one of my favorite pens. Fountain pens have made long writing sessions not just comfortable but a joyful experience for me. Parker 75 has a nifty feature that makes it even more enjoyable to use.

I tend to rotate my grip, which sometimes misaligns the tines of my pens ever so slightly. Parker 75 has a triangle grip section which lets me hold my pen in one place. Then I rotate the nib to the best angle that suits my grip.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see in the photo above, the “0” on the ring at the end of the section is the center marker, and the slit of the nib tines is not aligned with it. I adjusted it to how I hold my pen. This way, even if my grip is rotated, the triangle section helps me keep the pen in place, and the nib is rotated to make sure the tines are still aligned properly with the paper. I really wish more pens have a triangular grip and a rotating nib and feed (Lamy’s triangular grip is a little annoying for me).

It makes a big difference, and I’ve been enjoying these pens a lot because of it. The downside, though, is that it gives me an excuse not to correct myself when I rotate my grip. Eh. YOLO.

Doodle here...

