April FPN-P South Pen Mini Meet


I went to a mini pen meet with some members of the Fountain Pen Network Philippines last Saturday. I try and make it a point to join these mini meets once in a while because it’s also good to meet other people who have the same interests. I get to learn more about pens and also see pens that I’ve not seen before.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a member showing her Bexley anniversary pens. Aren’t they gorgeous? I think the colors are beautiful and the design is very classically American.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the finials of beautiful Pelikans and a Duofold Centennial from another member. They were all inked, so I was more than happy to try them all out!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s the same collection side by side with my pen case. I brought some of my vintage pens, which I was more than happy to let others try too. My other pen case contained my modern pens. This one had my vintage Pelikan M200, Parker Vacumatics, Parker 51 and Sheaffer Lifetime Senior.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the members showed us her Cartier trinity, which is timelessly classy. It has three gold rings on the cap; yellow gold, white gold, and rose gold. The nib is a springy and wettish medium.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the members also had a few new Danitrios. The body of these pens are really very beautiful. Here are a few shots of them: 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The nibs were okay, I guess. I think the owner is right, they write pretty dry and would require some nib work. Good thing he knows how to do it himself, and there are a couple of other nibmeisters in the group who can help him adjust the nibs too. In any case, the bodies are amazing! They are truly works of art.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a member trying out a Danitrio.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And my two Parker Vacumatics gleaming beautifully in the light.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s probably my favorite pen for the night, a Montblanc Herbert von Karajan. This is a spectacular writer. I’ve never really had any desire to own a Montblanc until I tried this out. Still, there are ways to acquire MBs at a decent price range. I think I’ll be on the lookout for it in the Marketplace. My next grail pen will definitely be an MB.

Of course, part of what’s enjoyable about pen meets (aside from the pens and pen-related chatter) is the food. We met at Shitamachi, SM BF Homes Paranaque. The food was good. 🙂 I tried their volcano ramen, which is served on a sizzling hot bowl. My favorite would have to be the karaage and the caramel panna cota, though. Looking forward to the next pen meet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Doodle here...

