This used to go “hisssss…”


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I got this 5-pen python leather case from a member of the Fountain Pen Network Philippines. I’ve been after this case since I saw another member post this in lambskin (which used to go “baaaaaa…”) several months back. I was told it was only sold by the manufacturer to a specific vendor in Rustan’s. So I combed several Rustan’s outlets for this, but I wasn’t able to find any in my area. So when this went up for sale, my hand went up too. Haha.

I like the design of this pen case because I don’t need to bother with zippers. It lets me access my pens easier, and it lays flat on the table. I took a lot of time picking the color for this case. I was waffling between this brown one or the grey and black one, which looks undoubtedly like the snake skin that it is. I don’t own leather things except for leather journals and pen cases, so I wasn’t very sure I’d like the exotic leather to look so close to how it looked like while it was still…you, know, alive and stuff.

I’m glad I picked the dark brown one, though. It looks very simple and doesn’t draw too much attention. The workmanship of this case is just amazing. The stitches are clean and sturdy, the cuts along the edges are also very meticulously done. This is definitely a well-made product that does not take away from the organic feel of the case. It doesn’t have that antiseptic, soulless feel to it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The pen came with a pretty cool bag, and a tag that explains the product best: “The leather used for this handmade product is naturally dyed and treated. As such, you can see the individual grain pattern and markings of the skin that makes each one unique. They come from the pelts of farmed animals that often exhibit a record of their natural life cycle such as tick bites, scratches and cuts which lend character to each finished product. The finest leather craftsmen make each one by hand that results in no two products being identical, after which – lotion specifically formulated for exotic leathers is applied by hand to clean, moisturize and protect the leather. We’re proud of each item we produce and are confident you’ll enjoy them for many years.”

They’re definitely right to be proud of the product. It’s really beautiful. Who knew python skin can be so soft and supple?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The texture is incredible. It’s very different from my lambskin pen case (which I also love, and is made by this same manufacturer) in that its textures are amazing. This definitely looks like it will age well with proper care. From the feedback I got from people who used pen cases and wraps from this manufacturer, the cases don’t cause stains. Note that improperly cured leather can cause unsightly tarnishing on the metal and gold parts of your pens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like that the pen slots are also generous without being too roomy. My biggest pen is the Sheaffer Lifetime Senior, which is bigger in girth than the Bexley Corona. It’s a comfortable fit.

I think it’s a wonderful pen case. I bought directly from the reseller, but I think this is also available in Rustans’ outlets. I’m trying to find out where and will update my post as soon as I get the information.

One thought on “This used to go “hisssss…”

Doodle here...

