Review: Parker Vacumatic Junior, Golden Brown


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eversince I got my first Parker 51 Demi, I’ve developed a hankering for vintage Parker pens. I’m not keen in collecting a whole lot of them, just a few of the pretty colors. My first vacumatic was an Azure Pearl and that was gorgeous. I loved how it wrote and how it looked, I like everything about it. I first saw this very same pen during a pen meet with JP of Pentangeli Pen Spa and Nib Works and fell in love with it. So when he put it up for sale, it was a no-brainer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This pen is a gorgeous specimen of a Vacumatic Junior. It’s slightly shorter than a Major and has a pearl-colored jewel on the cap. While the blue vac major has a wide cap band, this one has two slim bands around the cap.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis pen also has no blue diamond on it. JP said that this pen was manufactured some time in the 1940’s. The size difference from the Vacumatic Major isn’t really noticeable. Except for the small details you’ll see when you look closer, you’d think they’re the same pens, just with different colors. The weight is pleasant, the section is smooth and it’s a great pen to use for long writing periods.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have to say that the celluloid rings on this pen are gorgeous. The golden brown hues have so much depth and character to them. I think this pair needs a emerald colored vac to round it off nicely. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As the name implies, it is a vacumatic filler. It has a clear plastic plunger and, since it came from Mr. Pentangeli himself, the sac is healthy and the mechanism is working perfectly well.

The pen’s nib if very pretty. It seems to have wide wings that taper off to a slim point, giving you the feel that it’s almost like you’re writing with a quill. I think that Parker’s vacumatic nibs are elegantly designed and beautiful in their simplicity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was already enjoying myself immensely while turning this beauty over and over in my hand, but the best part was when I inked it. The nib just glides over paper with a wet, fine line. It’s a beautiful writer. Probably one of the best in my collection. Here’s a video of the writing sample below:

Of course, I inked it with a lovely, rich brown ink–Pilot Iroshizuku Yama-Guri. It is a perfect match. 🙂 For a seventy-something year old pen, this is in great condition and it writes even better than the modern pens that I have. I’m happy to add it to my collection.

Doodle here...

