Ink Swab: Diamine Sepia


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank goodness for 30ml bottles of ink. We’re able to try out some colors before we commit to a big bottle. I tried out a small  bottle of Diamine Sepia a while back and was pretty pleased with the experience. I have this in my to-order list once I use up the small bottle. Oh no, I jumped ahead of myself. Haha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This ink is a lovely shade of brown. Not exactly what I would use for daily writing because it’s an uncommon shade. This ink color is one of the best brown shades that I’ve used. It’s an old-timey sort of brown with gorgeous sheen. It truly looks like aged paper. When used on ivory-colored paper, the effect is so beautifully vintage-looking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My only gripe about this ink is that it tends to flow a bit dry. It’s my first choice as the ink for my Edison Pearlette but it seems to show flow problems after writing two pages or so. It flows moderately wet with my other wet writers. Even if it’s on the dry side, I appreciate its beautiful color a lot. It dries in about 15 seconds, it’s not waterproof and not particularly water resistant either.

Here are a few closeups of the writing sample.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Doodle here...

