Ink Swab: Pilot Iroshizuku Yama-Budo (Crimson Glory Vine)


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bexley BX802, 1.1mm stub inked with Yama-Budo

I’m not overly fond of pink ink. I find them a little too…sweet. I cannot see them as something I would use on my daily journal, let alone for daily use. That being said, I’ve always been curious about Yama-Budo. Before I ordered this bottle, I had decided that if I will have one pink ink, maybe this would be it. I wasn’t overly excited about it when I got it, but when I inked a pen with it and wrote my first lines…gasp. This ink is crazy gorgeous.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It reminds me of this beautiful flower my mom used to have in her garden. it’s deep pink on the outer parts of the petals, rich crimson towards the center. Looking at it gives me butterflies of delight in my tummy. This ink has a similar effect on me; it was love at first write. ❤

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This luscious pink ink may very well be my first and last of the shade. I’m happy with it, and I think that it looks gorgeous in person. The first time I tried it, the color’s vividness just popped out of the page, and it was so smooth and flowed really well that it was such a pleasure to use with my Bexley BX802.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It dries pretty fast (10 seconds) and retains some colors even when smeared or soaked a bit in water. It isn’t waterproof, though. Just highly saturated. That being said, it’s probably not the best idea to use it with a white pen (like what I did) or a demonstrator because it can stain. Being so gorgeous, though, you’d think that the stains are worth it. Sigh.

Even if the ink is highly saturated, it’s still expressive in shading. It also has some gold sheen on it, which may be visible depending on the kind of paper that you’re using. Here are a few close ups of the writing sample.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This ink is a pleasant surprise for me, and I’m happy I took the chance and tried it out. It may seem strange to use a pink  or crimson colored ink in my daily journal, but that’s what I’ve been doing this week. I’m on my second converter fill in just a matter of four days, and I couldn’t be happier. It’s simply gorgeous!

Doodle here...

