6-Pen Bespoke Leather Pen Case from Pengrafik


I’m a little finicky with cases. When I started collecting fountain pens, I enjoyed different kinds of pen wraps though I was always on the lookout for good leather cases. The thing is, it’s hard to find leather pen cases that were made with fine writing instruments in mind. More than being beautiful, I like pen cases that actually keep pens safe from being jostled around in my bag and scratching each other up. It’s even harder to find leather cases with dividers in bookstores or department stores.

So when I saw this leather pen case at one of the South pen meets of FPN-P, I ordered one for myself right away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a bespoke 6-pen leather case from Pengrafik. It’s made of genuine lambskin leather and it’s gorgeous. You can pick out the leather you want from several swatches. I gotta hand it to Kailash from Pengrafik. I just told him I wanted a “brown leather case” and he picked this color of brown for me–a luscious caramel color, which I think it’s an excellent choice. I love that the suede lining is dark brown, just gorgeous.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is very soft, smells good, and the stitching looks clean. The workmanship on the case is pretty good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt has two elastic bands to keep the pens securely in place. Some cases only have one band…bad idea. The interior is made of synthetic suede, and it’s  soft enough not to be abrasive to the pens. From what I gathered, it does not cause discoloration on the pens’ metal parts. That’s one of the issues of other leather cases. Perhaps the salt used in curing the leather reacts to the metal and introduces discoloration. After checking around a bit, I know this case won’t do that to my pens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe divider is real suede. It prevents the pens from the two sides of the case from rubbing against each other when the case is zipped close. It fits my longest and fattest pens (TWSBI Micarta and Bexley Corona) without being bulky.

Overall, I love this pen case. I love the leather on it, the texture is superb. The zipper doesn’t feel cheap. The size and thickness makes it convenient to carry around.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s even cat-approved.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All it needs is a little Jack Skellington, and it’s perfect!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought this case from Pengrafik.com. They also have a Facebook page.

Doodle here...

