Waterman Expert II with a Left Oblique CI Nib by Pentangeli


I sent my pen off to Pentangeli Pen Spa and Nib Works to have it ground as a cursive italic nib, but I changed my mind and thought I’d have it reground to a left oblique cursive italic instead. Thanks to the busy holiday season, I was able to ask JP to change the regrind just in time, before he had any work done on it.

weiilo

photo by JP of Pentangeli Pen Spa and Nibworks

I met up with JP today, despite feeling under the weather, so I can take the pen home. It’s actually like getting an entirely different pen from before. It used to be a medium nib, now it’s a left oblique cursive italic, which is like a regular cursive italic nib, except it has a cut to make it oblique. Photos below are taken by JP too.

weiilo3        weiilo2

This kind of nib is a lot more forgiving for people like me who like to rotate their grip on their pens. The result is very much like how my TWSBI Micarta writes (that’s a cursive italic), except that this one’s sweet spot is a lot easier to find.

weiilo4

It’s a joy to write with, and like the other nibs that JP fixed and reground for me, the ink flow is better than ever (not extremely wet) and the nib is smooth with just the right amount of feedback. A trip to the pen spa has made this pen an even better pen than it was before. 🙂

Also, this blue ink that JP put in the pen is perfect. I need this in my life. ❤

2 thoughts on “Waterman Expert II with a Left Oblique CI Nib by Pentangeli

    • Pao says:

      Hi! If you’re from the Philippines, just join fpn-p.org and once your membership is approved, you can contact JP through the forum. You can also join our FB group (search for Fountain Pen Network-Philippines) and send him a message through FB. I think that would be faster. 🙂

      Like

Doodle here...

