Bespoke Leather Pen Case from Alunsina


alunsinalpc-5

Last year I asked Alunsina Handbound Books to make me a leather pen case. I didn’t want anything too flashy, I just wanted a safe way to carry my pens around and pull them out faster. I wanted to try an alternative to my usual pen wrap. I sent them an example of the case that I prefer and then just waited for them to finish. I realize that I placed my order at a bad time because the end of the year is a very busy time for them. So, a few days ago they sent me what I ordered for.

I liked it a lot, though the pen slots were initially a tight fit for most my pens. Then I realized that I needed to stretch the leather slots a bit by actually pushing a Sharpie through them. That seemed to do the trick, though it still doesn’t fit my bigger pens like the Bexley and the Micarta. The others have no problem fitting.

It has a space to fit in one jotter notebook, but I realized that since the outer leather is thick and holds its shape, I can use the space for the notebook as an extra space for my other pens. It can fit 7 pens (4 in the slots and 3 in the grooves between them). Actually, you can fit in 9 if you use the leftmost and rightmost grooves too. I used those grooves for my Parker 51 pencil and my Parker 45 Harlequin ballpoint pen. The thick leather holds its shape and holds all the pens in place.

alunsinalpc-4

The size of the whole case is about an in or so longer than Kislap, but it’s small enough to fit comfortably in my bag.

alunsinalpc-6

It’s a very simple pen case, just like I requested. If I will make an improvement on the design, the pen slots should be about an inch or an in and a half shorter to make it easier to pull the pens out. A bit of stitching around the edges of the flap and the band would also be nice. Other than that, I already like it as it is. 🙂 It’s unique, it’s functional, a little rough around the edges and doesn’t look soullessly commercialized.

3 thoughts on “Bespoke Leather Pen Case from Alunsina

Doodle here...

