Review: Bexley BX802 in Cracked Ice


I was looking for an inexpensive pen for Christmas, something that will not go over my allotted budget for it. Since I got acquainted with Bexley in the past months, I thought I’d try one of their entry level pens. I was curious about the BX802 because one of my pen friends has one in a Cappuccino design. I wanted that kind of design too, but sadly it wasn’t available anymore. Since the pen is out of production, I cannot order it directly from the site either. I didn’t want to pay full price for it, so I asked my pen friend who sells Bexley if he has the BX802 in any other color, and he said that he still has one in cracked ice. I Googled that up and I knew this was gonna be my Christmas gift to myself.

bx802

So this morning, this package came through Xend. My pen friend did a great job packing it, I think. It took a while before I could rip through all that tape and bubble wrap.

bx802-2

I think this pen’s box is a bit smaller than the box my Corona came in, I can’t remember (and I’m too lazy to dig for the box).

bx802-3

This little pen is quite beautiful. I’m not sure why Bexley pens aren’t very photogenic, but the design of this cracked ice acrylic is very pretty up close.

bx802-6      bx802-5

It actually looks like crushed white stone, and there are small bits of silvery, translucent flecks scattered about it. I gotta admit that I’m developing a taste for these hand-turned pens because they’re not very industrial and cold-looking, like they were picked out of an assembly line. Each pen, whether they came from the same acrylic rod stock or have the same materials, will be unique. There are no two pens that are exactly alike. Unlike when you buy pens like a Lamy Studio or similar pens–you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all.

Cracked ice

A close up of the cracked ice acrylic

This pen’s acrylic has a very nice depth to it. A bit hard to capture on photos but, like the Corona’s blueberry cream, it seems the crushed ice has deeper dimensions, and the layers are very beautiful and more organic-looking. The texture of the pen is very smooth. Even the black section and the top part of the cap flows easily into the design. Everything about this pen, small as it is, feels harmonious and coherent.

bx802-7

I like that the trims are stainless-steel colored. The Cappuccino design I originally wanted had gold trims and brown sections. I think this design suits me better.

bx802-10

I find the aesthetics of this pen to be very appealing. I think that for my budget, I really did pick well. Despite  being an entry-level pen, it doesn’t look or feel cheap at all. It has that classic American design that I love about Bexley pens and each component is obviously well-made.

Cracked ice

The pen is a bit top-heavy when posted, though not exceedingly or uncomfortably so. It’s 5 1/4″ long when capped and 6 1/2″ when posted. When unposted, it measures 5″, which is comfortable enough for me to use without the cap on. I tried to use it posted to get more weight into the pen, but somehow my hand kept on pushing the cap off while I wrote.

Cracked Ice

The section of the pen is long enough to make it very comfortable to grip. This is one thing I absolutely love about Bexley pens. The section is smooth, long and very comfortable on the fingers. It flares just a tiny bit at the end to make it secure while writing, but you don’t feel any uncomfortable threads or steps on it. The BX802’s section isn’t as long as the Corona, of course, but the proportion of the section to the barrel looks about the same.

bx802-11

The pen came with a long piston converter, which I think holds a relatively good amount of ink for its size.

bx802-14

At first glance, the pen feels deceptively small in the hands, but when capped, its size actually comes close to a full-sized Parker 51. The body is not very chunky, I guess that’s why it feels small. The cap is a bit large, though, and it makes the pen look a bit more imposing than it actually is. If I would make any design change on this pen, I’d probably make the cap a tad smaller and the top flat rather than rounded. Sort of like a mini Corona.

bx802-8

I asked for a 1.1 stub nib because I wanted to try a different nib out. I thought that it would be a similar writing experience with the cursive italic regrind from Pentangeli, but this is quite different.

bx802-12

The line variation is more apparent because of the wider nib, but the ends are rounder. It gave my style of writing a more comic book font-like appearance because of that combination of roundness and dramatic line variation. It’s certainly a different writing experience from my medium cursive italic, and I’m happy that I picked this nib. It’s a Goulet replacement nib, by the way.

I wasn’t able to make a video of a writing sample because I was eager to swap the nibs on the Corona and the BX802. The 1.1mm stub is now in my Corona (because the stub nib is bigger and looks better on a big pen with a big ink capacity) and the fine nib is now with my BX802, which is a better fit, appearance-wise.

bx802-13

All in all, I do enjoy looking at this pen and using it. Although it doesn’t feel as substantial in weight and size as the Corona, this smaller pen is no slouch at all. I would recommend it to people who are looking for a unique-looking entry level pen. Bexley doesn’t sell this anymore but there are still some sellers on eBay and Amazon that have NOS.

Cracked Ice

A very handsome pen for a good price.

5 thoughts on “Review: Bexley BX802 in Cracked Ice

    • Pao says:

      Thanks Julie. I was really interested in getting one in Cappuccino. I was sad that it’s out of stock. 😦 perhaps someday i’ll get one on fleabay 🙂

      Like

  1. Nop Bangkok says:

    Thanks for the review and great photos. Note with interest that the nib is a Goulet (not a Bexley/JoWo), which are really great nibs.

    Like

    • Pao says:

      Hi, yes the nib is a Goulet 1.1 stub nib and it’s very smooth. 🙂 I wanted to try Bexley’s 1.1 nib but unfortunately the distributor didn’t have one on stock.

      Like

Doodle here...

