Review: TWSBI Micarta Medium Cursive Italic


I already reviewed the TWSBI Micarta 803 with a medium nib back in October, but I had recently had the nib reground to a cursive italic. I thought I would review it again because, honestly, it feels like getting a new pen. I’ll skip all the comments about the appearance and such because I already tackled that in my previous review.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Suffice it to say that I really like this pen. The way it looks, its weight, its durable material, its girth…I love everything about it. I contacted TWSBI about noticing that the ink dries up faster than what I’m used to and they sent me a new nib and feed assembly. It has since solved that little issue, I’m happy to say. So I thought that if I’m gonna venture to try a specialty nib on my pens, I’d rather try it out with a TWSBI Micarta first. I sent it out to Pentangeli Pen Spa and Nib Works and braced myself to be parted with one of my favorite pens for several weeks. However, the pen was ready in only a week’s time, and when I got it back, I had a little tutorial with JP on how to hold the pen.

twsbi-micarta-ci-4

I have to admit that it was a bit hard for me. The first letter of each line was always a challenge, but once I get the sweet spot, I am able to write flawlessly. Unlike round-ended nibs that can be more tolerant of pen rotation, italic nibs are a bit less forgiving. If you don’t hold it at the right angle, it feels scratchy and would sometimes not even write. Hold it at the proper angle, though and it gives your writing some beautiful line variations. 

twsbi-micarta-ci-3 twsbi-micarta-ci-2

I’m getting better at finding the sweet spot, though. Compared to when I first got it back, I kept on consciously trying to hold it a certain way. Now the awkward starts are getting fewer and fewer. As long as I find the sweet spot of the pen, the writing experience is superb. Pentangeli did an awesome job on this pen. It’s really smooth with just the right amount of feedback to help with controlling the pen’s motion. It glides on paper and the nib is never thirsty. Like I said, it’s like getting a new pen, and I’m very happy with it. It’s been in my two-pen daily rotation since I got it back.

Here’s a video of the writing sample. I really should get a tripod for my phone.

I wish that I had better penmanship for cursive writing, but this is really the kind of writing that I’m most comfortable with. It doesn’t show off too much of the line variations that the nib is capable of, but it makes my penmanship and my writing experience a lot less boring.

twsbi-micarta-ci

I’m hoping to make another video once my Waterman Expert II gets back from the spa. 🙂

Doodle here...

