Custom Painted Pilot 78G and Makers Market Stash


IMG_0538

I got this beautiful pen from our exchange gift this afternoon at a mini pen meet that I attended. It’s a red Pilot 78G, which is a great budget pen and all, but what made it really special was that it was painted by a local artist maki-e style. It’s kinda hard to capture the gold and silver colored flecks lacquered into it. Quite a gorgeous pen.

IMG_0537It’s a medium nib, and from what I’ve read about this pen, a very reliable workhorse of a writer. The body is plastic and very light, and would seem like a very nice pen to use for prolonged writing sessions (which is what I normally use them for). Also looks to be a Japanese medium, which is closer to a European fine. I’m excited to write a review about it. I’ve been meaning to go to Cosmos Bazaar and check if they had this in stock. Of course, being a work of art makes it quite unique and special. 🙂 I’m happy to have it in my collection.

I’m also very happy to have my Micarta back from one of our group’s nibmeisters, Pentangeli.

IMG_0531

I know, I know, my penmanship sucks.

Pentangeli’s work on the nib is, as usual, quite amazing. It’s gone from a very boring factory medium to a cursive italic with all the fun line variations. The smoothness of the nib is also quite delicious. That touch of feedback is really growing on me, and (as silly as it sounds) makes me giggle with delight, haha. 

It’s always a lot of fun to meet with new pen friends. JP (Pentangeli) even held a pen workshop to teach how to smooth out nibs and improve ink flow. I think that’s very nice of him to do that.

IMG_0536Oh, I also managed to get a new Esterbrook renew point so I can have something else besides the Broad nib that I have. The 9968 is so wet that it sometimes isn’t good to use on thin paper. So I wanted to get a new nib that I can easily swap with it. I got this 9956 Master Point Firm Fine nib (also from JP). Tried it out as soon as I got home and yes, it writes awesome. It’s a fine writer, but is very generous with ink. Unlike other fine writers that I have, this nib can write even on paper that has a lot of coating.

After a very fun afternoon checking out other people’s beautiful fountain pen collections, my husband and I headed to Zonta Alabang for the Makers’ Market. I bought a few knick knacks for my pumpkins, as well as Alunsina’s Kislap (traveler journal) for my husband and a small journal I got for a friend.

IMG_0542

Alunsina Handbound Books, my favorite local leather journal maker

I wasn’t able to get a photo of my husband’s Kislap because he already put it in his pocket. 🙂 I ordered a Kislap and a full-sized journal for myself (to be sent to me because I had it personalized) and I will review it soon. If you want to order a journal, check out their Facebook page–> Alunsina Handbound Books.

IMG_0541

I also got this pretty cool mother of pearl chopsticks rest, which of course I used as a pen rest. All in all, it’s been an awesome day, even with the awful traffic.

Doodle here...

