Pen and Ink One True Pairing: Wahl-Eversharp Skyline and Sailor Miruai


I’m not exactly sure yet why this is true, has always been true in my experience, but some inks just work better with some pens. I had to adjust my expectations because I thought that all kinds of ink would work the same way with all kinds of pens. As it turns out, that’s not always true, not even with the most consistent writers I have in my collection, like Lamy.

I found that some inks flow a bit more “dryer” in some pens and a bit wetter in others. For example, I loaded my Parker 51 demi with Diamine Twilight and the flow wasn’t very good. It wrote in very thin, skipping lines. I thought the pen was broken or clogged up. I cleaned it up and tried again, same result. When I changed the ink to Diamine Onyx Black, lo and behold–it wrote magnificently (and thus started my penchant to collecting Parker 51’s).

Here’s another OTP that I thoroughly enjoyed. Wahl-Eversharp Skyline with Sailor Miruai (Seaweed Indigo).

OTP

The person who sold me the pen actually let me get a fill from his bottle when I bought it. I wrote with the pen until I used up all the ink, and then cleaned it out and used Diamine Twilight with it. Surprisingly, that ink bled through the pages of my journal like crazy. It flowed too thick and wet. I got myself a bottle of Miruai and tried that again (the color of the ink perfectly complements the dark moss green color of the pen). It behaved perfectly. Absolutely no bleed through.

There’s probably a scientific explanation for all that? Maybe? I’m happy to just call it a pen and ink OTP. 🙂

Doodle here...

