Review: Parker 45 (Fine), Truly a Classic Pen


P1040108

I bought this pen last Saturday from a fellow collector for a very good price of P300. I wasn’t really expecting to use it because the nib is fine and I don’t really use fine nibs on my journal. My Muji journal’s pages are quite glossy and it doesn’t play very well with pens that have fine nibs or are dry writers. This was the first writing sample I took of it.

P1040113

I  had to bear down on the pen to achieve an acceptable flow of ink on it, which made me think twice about using it daily. It was a very dry writer, and I actually only bought it as a partner to my Parker 45 ballpoint pen. I thought I was going to just add it to my collection, tuck it away and never get to use again. 

However, a little bit of cleaning and tuning did finally increase the ink flow to a very good level. Writing sample posted at the end of the entry. 🙂 Here’s a photo of the disassembled pen. Please note that the nib can be disengaged from the feed by pushing the feed away from the nib. This makes tuning the nib a lot easier. It’s actually very easy to disassemble and put back together.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The Parker 45 line was introduced as an entry level pen back in 1960 and stayed in production for almost 50 years, which speaks of the quality and design of the pen. It got its name from the Colt 45 revolver. This particular pen that I bought was manufactured in the last quarter of 1981, according to its date code. It’s the flighter edition which sports a steel cap and body. The cap closes on the section with a very firm snap. It takes a firm tug to open it too, but I like it that way because the ink will stay wet while capped. The pen posts snugly, without a snap. It just hugs the barrel, so I’m a bit wary of posting it often as it might leave a scratch in the long run. It uses any of the two locally available Parker converters (the sliding and twisting kinds).

P1040107

Many of the modern Parker pens are reminiscent of this design. The top of the cap and the iconic, clearly defined arrow clip is exactly the same as the Parker 45 Harlequin ballpoint pen that I have.

For a small pen, this actually has a very pleasant weight. It sits well on my hand whether posted or unposted, but I do admit that it feels a lot more pleasant and better balanced if I use it with the cap posted.

P1040111

The flighter nib is interesting. It’s my first fountain pen with this kind of nib that isn’t fully exposed. I had my doubts, but after cleaning and tuning, it really is a joy to write with. It does have the tiniest bit of feedback, which doesn’t take away from the writing experience but instead adds more pleasure to it. It helps me get a feel of the paper I am writing on.

The section is made of sturdy plastic, and it’s very pleasant to hold while writing, unlike the Harlequin ballpoint pen which tends to be a bit slippery and hard to hold down while writing.

Here is a writing sample after I tuned the nib a bit. It’s got a very generous ink flow and shows off the shading of the ink very beautifully. It starts easily and doesn’t skip at all.

It glides on paper now and I don’t need to bear on it while writing to achieve a nice, gushy ink flow. With that, this pen made it to my weekly rotation. 🙂

This pen is considered as one of Parker’s classic pens, and rightly so. It’s a timeless beauty, the nib performs really well even after many years of use, it balances nicely and the size is very comfortable to hold.

I really wish I can get a Harlequin designed version of this pen. That would be really awesome. ^_^

4 thoughts on “Review: Parker 45 (Fine), Truly a Classic Pen

  1. Sir Pao Alfonso, do you by any chance re-sell this pen? *grin* I’ve been looking for a 45 for quite a long time now and I have no luck. I want this pen because it reminds me of my grandfather. If there is no chance of you, re-selling this I hope you can help me find a 45 the way you find yours. Thanks!

    Like

Doodle here...

