Ink Swab: Noodler’s Burma Road Brown


noodlers burma road brown001

I just love brown, green, and yellow (all dark) inks. The darker, the better. I dropped by Scribe hoping to buy a proper blue black ink but I ended up with Noodler’s Burma Road Brown, which was something I stumbled upon while reading the forums of FPN-P this week. I decided to give it a try because the hue is a bit intriguing for me.

P1040117

Here’s a writing sample using my pen with the broadest nib, my Waterman Hemisphere. Oh, I just loved it right out of the bottle. The paper used for this shot is Muji. Here is a close up of the letters and how they show off the gorgeous shading.

P1040120

It’s like very dark brown with a mixture of dark green and a bit of a yellowish tint. I like the complexity of the color and that you can’t pinpoint for sure whether it’s brown, green, or yellow. Haha. Here’s a comparison with my favorite inks that are somehow similar to it; Diamine POGI and J. Herbin’s Lie de The.

P1040122

Gorgeous colors, really. Burma Road Brown just made it to my favorite inks list. ^_^

8 thoughts on “Ink Swab: Noodler’s Burma Road Brown

  1. Philip Guest says:

    Could you compare this to Diamine Safari?
    I was very excited about Tokiwa Matsu but it’s too blue (also Salamander, although that remains intriguing). The Kingdom Note “Deep in the Mountains” and “Cicada”, both look close to what I’m looking for, along with MontBlanc “Daniel Defoe”, but I would rather find something accessible and affordable!
    By those criteria Burma Road Brown and Safari look closest. Any other suggestions in this range?

    Like

    • Hi Philip, in broader nibs, Burma Road Brown leans more on the brown side. I think Safari is closer to Daniel Defoe’s color, it’s an earthy green color. A tad dry on some of my pens, but a beautiful color nonetheless. 🙂

      Like

      • mrpguest says:

        Thanks for getting back Pao, but too late! I did have a smidgeon of a sample of Burma Road Brown that I loaded in my “green pen” (a Noodler’s Konrad Ebonite Pine Green) whilst I was researching less blue alternatives to Tokiwa Matsu. By the end of my research I had fallen in love with BRB, which displays a very gentle and restful green like dried grasses in this nib at least. A bottle is now on it’s way along with a sample of Safari (if I had received your reply before I placed the order this may have been different!) and a bottle of Organics Studio Walt Whitman, which looks quite intriguing!
        I know there is a perfect ink for me in this color range somewhere, but I am surprised how many bottles of very nice ink I have had to try out to find it!
        Thanks again for the reply,
        Philip

        Like

      • Philip Guest says:

        Hello Pao,
        You were right of course!
        If I had exercised a bit more patience and received your advice before rushing in my ink order, I surely would have upgraded my sample of Safari to a bottle based on your advice. (I also would of thrown in a bottle of Monteverde Olivine, which looks worth a try, but which I quite forgot about in my haste).
        However the Burma Road in the pen I am using is indeed a lovely thing, so I don’t regret my choices, I just would have spent more if I listened to you!
        While I only ordered a sample of Safari, I did include a bottle of Organics Studio Walt Whitman and, to qualify for free postage, a bottle of Noodler’s El Lawrence, both of which are very curious things (one of them I think might even be rather lovely!). Are those inks you have tried?
        My collection of “not quite” greens that are either rotting or turning to stone is proliferating rapidly! I am not unhappy about this!
        Thanks again for your inspirations!
        Philip

        Like

      • Ah yes, Burma Road brown is a beautiful ink too. I haven’t tried Organics Studio Walt Whitman (the brand isn’t locally available in the Philippines). I have tried El Lawrence before, it’s a bit on the darker side of green. A bit murkier in color than Safari.

        Have fun with your new inks! Green inks have a special place in my heart, of course. 🙂

        Like

      • Thank you Pao!
        Yes I am very happy with Burma Road Brown . . .
        and after several days of suspicious circling, I have decided that I am completely in love with Walt Whitman (the ink) too! After a couple of trials it kicked some lesser lovely ink out of my beloved Lamy CP1, and I have a feeling that no other inks will enter that pen from here on. A perfect match – don’t you love it when that happens!
        If you are interested and want to let me know your address I would be happy to send you a sample (although if you already have “Jonathan Swift” this is probably not necessary? My impression is that Daniel Defoe = Safari and Jonathan Swift = Walt Whitman?). From my point of view it is somewhere between Salamander (without the gross factor) and Vert Empire (without the aloofness!).
        El Lawrence I can’t see me ever putting in a pen that I care about – that stuff looks like toxic sludge, but the packaging is great and it might be worth having something “bulletproof” in the back of the drawer. If you are ever in England T.E. Lawrence’s old stomping grounds of Wareham and the “Isle of Purbeck” are about as good as it gets!
        Hey, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad!
        Let me know if you are interested in that sample, and thanks again,
        Philip

        Like

      • Hi, thank you for the offer but our local post office is a black hole. Anything my friends send through the mail never get to me! Even if it’s just Christmas cards. *shakes fist at city hall*

        I avoid putting Noodlers’ inks in my vintage pens because it does remind me of toxic sludge, lol. I only put Noodlers’ inks in my modern pens, especially those that are easy to take apart and clean. With the exception of Burma Road Brown, which is the only ink I use in my Parker 51.

        Like

Doodle here...

